Skip to Page Content

Event Details

    Tapping Into Talent Symposium

    Date: May 22, 2018
    Catawba Country Chamber of Commerce, Catawba EDC, CVCC
    Hickory Metro Convention Center
    $89 per person (Registration closes May 15, 2018)
    Event Type:
    iCal link
    Add to Calendar

    Attracting, retaining and developing talent is teh top issue for the Catawba County business community. Through this conference hosted by your Chamber, the Catawba County EDC and CVCC, we will bring together leaders in business and human resourcess to spotlight recruistment and retention strategies that are "outside the box."

    Keynote Speaker is Peyton Holland, Executive Director, SkillsUSA North Carolina.  Peyton Holland, Executive Director of SkillsUSA North Carolina has dedicated his career to helping bridge education, industry, and communities together so that our schools and colleges are preparing the next generation of leadership in the workforce. For nearly a decade, Peyton has served as the Executive Director of SkillsUSA North Carolina, a non-profit that is leading efforts to empower students to explore the world with their hands through technical education and connect them with industry members seeking a skilled and talented workforce. Peyton’s mission has been to change the conversation on education and help people begin to see that technical education and academic education must be respected as equals. A master craftsman deserves the same respect as someone with a master’s degree.

    Breakout sessions include:
    • Tapping Into Your Current Employees
    • Tapping the Next Generation Through Work Experience
    • Tapping into Transitioning Veterans
    • Best Practice Sharing-50 Ideas in 50 Minutes
    • Diversifying Your Talent pipeline
    • Forgotten Pipelines of Talent
    Lunch Speaker is Kevin Trapani, Chairman, NC Works CommissionThe Commission is designated as the state’s Workforce Development Board under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. Led by a private sector chair, the 33-member Commission includes representatives from the business community, heads of state workforce agencies, educators, and community leaders. All members are appointed by the Governor.
    Click HERE is register!